Monday, Aug. 14, 2006, 12:45,

the beginnings of packing

Well, the security scare seems to be mostly over (although they're still conducting extra checks on anyone who looks like a suicide bomber - what does a suicide bomber look like?) So I'm allowed to take hand luggage, and I'm happy.

Mum and I just did the loft-trip, and got down all the things I think I want to take with me which are currently stored in the loft (duvet, kettle, frying pan, cutlery, suitcase, electric blanket - it occurs to me that we didn't come across a mattress protector). Today I need to do a serious sort-out of my room and make sure all the papers I need to take with me are in the right place, and everything else I need is actually findable.

I'm not taking everything with me when I go, Mum will come and visit me after about three weeks, bringing the rest of what I need. For those of you who don't know, my Dad is quite severely disabled, so she can only come for one night while my aunt and uncle look after him. I'm actually over the moon that she can come at all.

I will probably start the preliminary pack in the next couple of days - normally I'd leave it right to the last minute, but normally I'm only going away for a week or two, not a whole year.

This time next week, I'll be half way through the first day of my language course!

Prev, Next


Click for Grenoble, France Forecast
Weather in Grenoble


home
archives
profile
notes
diaryland
layout (edited by me)


Powered by TagBoard Message Board
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


- - Monday, Jul. 30, 2007
- - Wednesday, May. 16, 2007
Lyon photo entry - Saturday, May. 12, 2007
more advice for future students (health) - Wednesday, May. 02, 2007
frogs legs - Monday, Mar. 26, 2007





newest entry older entries notes email me diaryland evilgnome designs